Roundabout 4.10.18

Next Meeting

We will have a unique program in the Frangipani Room by Roger Hangarter, distinguished professor and Chancellor’s Professor of Biology at Indiana University. His topic will be The Un-Still Life of Plants and will use time-lapse imaging.


Four new Paul Harris Fellows

Four new Paul Harris Fellows were recognized for their generous and varied investments in the Bloomington Rotary Club. Honored were, from left above, Shelli Yoder, Susie Graham, Marilyn Wood, and Pam Martindale.

One new member

Drew Bratton inducted new member Jim Capshew, who was sponsored by Kyla Cox Deckard. Jim is Indiana University’s first official university historian, serving in this role in partnership with the Council of University Historians and the Office of the Bicentennial. He is the author of Herman B Wells: The Promise of the American University. He first met Wells when he worked for him as an undergraduate student at IU.


The April 10 program

It was an unusual day.

The speaker was not Catherine Stafford, who was scheduled to speak before she became a candidate for a contested office in the primary election. The club only hears from candidates when all running in a contested race can give their points of view, so her presentation was cancelled. President Mike Baker said she was very gracious about the news.

The speaker also was not the intended backup, club member Owen Johnson.

Instead, many club members used the opportunity for a variety of unscheduled items. An impromptu round of Happy Dollars encouraged 18 different Rotarians to speak about items of importance to them.

President Mike read a note from former club member Harmon Baldwin about his fond memories of Rotary and the work of our club.

Jim Bright made a pitch to come to the gala on May 10. He and others stressed the rare and unusual opportunity to have a visit from the International President of Rotary. Rotary International President Ian Riseley, from the Rotary Club of Sandringham, Victoria, Australia, has agreed to attend the gala commemorating the club’s 100th birthday. Jim also encouraged people to attend the Statewide Conference April 20-21 in Indianapolis. One hundred of the state’s 131 clubs will have representatives there. Bloomington and Indianapolis clubs have the most Rotarians registered, with 18 members each.


Our April 10 Meeting

President Mike Baker led the meeting. John Hobson was our greeter, and Glenda Murray led the Pledge of Allegiance and presented a reflection on Rotary. She introduced us to six of our club’s 12 past presidents who have also been District Governor. The six she talked about were Oscar H. Cravens, Rev. A. Elliston Cole, George H. Smith, John E. Stempel, Walter E. Burnham, and Harold W. Jordan.


She plans to talk about the other six next week.


Glenda also said she has found photos of all past presidents of the Bloomington Rotary Club except six: Aphol M. Snyder, who was president in 1920-21; Rev. William Burrows, president in 1921-22; W. Harry Johnson, president in 1922-23; George Frank Holland, M.D., president in 1925-26; Robert E. Ellis, president in 1947-48; and George M. Tomey, president in 1952-53. She asked for help finding pictures of these past presidents.



Michael Shermis introduced three guests: David Dilcher, guest of Earon Davis; Evan Fruits, guest of Walter Koon; and Jack Schmit, guest of Yolanda Trevino.



Martha Wailes, April 8

Gus Shakalis, April 9

Martha Foster, April 11

Meagan Niese, April 13

Kay Leach, April 15



Marilyn Wood, 3 years

Matt Stitsinger, 2 years

Ron Barnes, 38 years


Bob Zaltsberg, Reporter

Charlie Osborne, Photographer